Thursday, January 12, 2017

Nominate a Deserving K-12 Teacher for National History Teacher of the Year

The National History Teacher of the Year Award recognizes outstanding American history teachers across the country.  Each state will select a state winner who then will be placed in competition for the National History Teacher of the Year award. Nominate a teacher today!   ­
  • State winners receive a $1,000 prize, an archive of classroom resources, and recognition at a ceremony within their state.
  • National winner receives a $10,000 prize presented at an award ceremony in their honor in New York City.
You can nominate any K-12 Teacher for the 2017 HTOY award

Nominations may be made by clicking the link above or going to:

Important Calendar Dates:
  • Deadline for 2017 nominations: March 31, 2017
  • Deadline for 2017 nominees to submit supporting materials: April 30, 2017
The 2017 awards honor outstanding elementary school teachers. The 2018 awards will honor middle or high school teachers. Teachers may be nominated in either category throughout the year.

The Gilder-Lehrman Institute for American History, New York, NY sponsors this competition.  The Montana Council for History and Civics Education (MCHCE) administers the Montana state competition for the Gilder-Lehrman Institute.  Visit the MCHCE at: mchce.net or on Facebook.

Note: This post has been edited to reflect the fact that the award is open to all K-12 teachers, not just elementary teachers as I originally posted. 

No comments:

Post a Comment